November Oil Round-up!

Happy Sunday Everybody!

These past few weeks has been a CRAZY week with school stuff and I feel like I haven’t had time to do anything besides homework and sleep a little and eat. The good news is, I can now count on one hand the number of assignments I have left to do between now and finals week. I can’t believe Thanksgiving has come and passed already! Up next: Christmas!!! I cannot tell you how excited I am for it!

Speaking of Thanksgiving, the reason I haven’t put any recipes up is because none of them quite turned out how I wanted them to, so I will have to keep working on them until I perfect them. My lovely sister made fermented cranberry sauce and fabulous butternut squash casserole and I will get those recipes for you and put them up on the blog! I went to a cooking class this weekend for nourishing traditions and I got a lot of tips and tricks for fermenting and baking that I will share with you and incorporate into my recipes.

For today, I wanted to give you an overview of my essential oil order for this month. I feel like I got a bunch of different oils this month, but most of them are basic ones that I go through a lot and need to order frequently. I did get a couple of oils I have never had before and I am very excited to use them!

photo

Holiday Joy: DoTERRA’s annual oil blend for the holidays. It helps to get the mind, soul, and body ready for Christmas! I am excited to diffuse this in my house and hopefully get my roommates to get in the holiday spirit!

Geranium: I got this oil for the first time because I’m working on balancing my hormones. It’s also good for soothing skin, calming the mood, and calming down minor aches and pains.

Breathe: I love this blend and use it very frequently! It is the one oil that I give out samples of most frequently! It open up your airways and can help break up the mucus in the lungs. This past summer when I had Bronchitis, I used this to help me survive! I would rub a drop on my hands and huff it, rub a drop on my chest, and diffuse it while I slept. I don’t know what I did without it!

Lemon: This oil, like all of the citrus oils, are great for detoxification. I alternate drinking Lemon and Grapefruit in my water during the day and it helps me drink more water throughout the day because it isn’t so bland.

Melaleuca: More commonly known as Tea Tree Oil, this oil is fabulous for the skin and many skin care products are coming out with this oil in it. It is also an antibacterial and antiviral oil that has been used historically for preventing wounds from becoming infected. This oil can help heal ear infection within minutes, saving money and time from a doctor visit. I use it on a daily basis on my face and in a “flu bomb” capsule whenever I think a cold or other sickness might be coming on.

Peppermint: I cannot explain how much I love this oil! It has so many uses and I am rarely found without it. It is useful to help reduce or take away headaches, cool any burn (sunburn, curling iron burn, etc), increase alertness, calm tummy issues such as nausea and motion sickness, and make your breath smell good! I use this a lot when I am working the night shift at the hospital to keep me awake. I also use this a lot in my baking (buttermints, peppermint hot chocolate, or brownies anyone?!?).

Oregano: Oregano is a very powerful immune support oil. It has antiviral, antibacterial, antiseptic, antifungal and antiparasitic properties. It also can remove skin tags and moles. This is another oil I put in my “flu bomb” capsule when I feel a tingle in my throat. I will also be seen rubbing this on my feet frequently to support hormones and fend off illness. Be careful with this oil, however, as this is a “hot” oil that can burn your skin. Always dilute this oil before use on the skin, especially on children. I usually do not have a problem putting it straight on my feet, but you will have to experiment to see what your body can handle. Also, it is recommended to use this oil in a 10 days on 10 days off cycle because it is so powerful that your body needs time to rest while using it.

On Guard: DoTERRA’s immunity blend, this oil blend has antibacterial, antiviral, antiseptic, and antifungal properties. I use this oil as a hand sanitizer, in a diffuser to kill pathogens in my house, and in a “flu-bomb” capsule. Also, if you have a sore throat, you can gargle and swallow a small glass with a little water and a few drops of this oil and it will kill the pain temporarily (because the clove in the blend is a natural pain-killer), and kill the pathogens that are causing the sore-throat. You can also rub a drop or two of this oil on the outside of your throat to help alleviate the pain of a sore throat.

DigestZen: This blend has been crafted specifically to support the digestive system. It is another oil that I am rarely found without due to my sensitivities to food. If you are feeling bloated or even just icky, you can rub the oil on your belly button or take in a capsule. This also will help alleviate diarrhea and constipation (don’t ask how, but it really works!) and can kill any stomach “flu” within a few minutes. This is really amazing stuff! It also comes pre-made in a capsule.

On Guard Toothpaste: This toothpaste is  all-natural and contains On-Guard blend that I praised just a second ago, and Xylitol, which studies have been showing can help rebuild tooth enamel. Since it has no harsh or unnatural ingredients, the toothpaste will go in and kill only the bad bacteria in the mouth and leaves the good bacteria to repopulate the mouth. Since using this toothpaste, I wake up without bad breath or scummy teeth, which are both a result of the overpopulation of bad bacteria that grow when you strip your mouth of all the good bacteria (which traditional toothpaste does, along with giving the bad bacteria sugar to feed off of).

On Guard Throat Drops: Another product in the On Guard product line, these drops are throat lozenges (similar to sucrets). The help kill pathogenic bacteria and numbs the pain of a sore throat, if you have one. I will sometimes pop one in my mouth if my throat has a little tingle in the morning and I will have no symptoms by the next day!

Peppermint Beadlets: Each beadlet is 1/3 of a drop of peppermint EO. It has all of the same properties as I described above, but its more conveniently packaged for use when it isn’t exactly appropriate to whip out a bottle of essential oil and put a drop on your tongue, tummy, or forehead.


There is a run-down of the many oils I got this month! I have already opened (almost) all of them and they have been put to good use!

If you have any questions about essential oil uses, benefits, or how to order any, please comment here or on my Facebook page! I would love to be able to help you get started or continue on your journey to health through these wonderful tools! You can also visit my DoTERRA website to order!

I hope you had a great Thanksgiving and a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

