The Dirty Dozen (No, I’m not talking about a box of donuts)

I get it. Eating organic is pricey. I am a single gal paying for her college out of pocket from a part time job. If you think I’m made of money, I can give you a reality check… I’m not. And whenever I go to the store and look through produce and see the price difference between regular and organic I’m tempted to think, “maybe those chemicals aren’t sounding that bad. after all, isn’t a roof over my head more important that eating organic produce?” The truth is, when it comes to what you buy, some is better than none. Eating some organic is better than trying to nix the idea of having any at all. This is because when you eat chemicals, they can build up in your body unless you are detoxifying regularly. So, the less you put in your body, the better.

But, did you know that all foods are not created equal when it comes to the harm your body can receive from choosing non-organic over organic? There are two fairly popular lists I have found, they are called the “dirty dozen” and “clean fifteen” (catcy, eh?) These are the two lists that I try to follow when shopping for produce. Now remember, if you are on a specific healing diet (like the GAPs intro diet), it is important to eat all organic produce if possible to help your body heal faster, but again, better some than none. So without further ado… The lists


The Dirty Dozen:

  • Apples
  • Strawberries
  • Grapes
  • Celery
  • Peaches
  • Spinach
  • Sweet Bell Peppers
  • Nectarines
  • Cucumbers
  • Cherry Tomatoes
  • Snap Peas
  • Potatoes
  • Hot Peppers
  • Kale

(If you were counting, you might have seen that you got a couple of freebies in there.) My rule of thumb is, if it has little or no peel, go with organic produce. The fact that most of these could hold on to pesticides isn’t necessarily why they made the list, but that is what makes sense to me, so I’ve remembered it that way. But, of course, there is always some exceptions to that rule, seen in the next list…


The Clean Fifteen:

  • Avacados
  • Sweet Corn
  • Pineapples
  • Cabbage
  • Sweet Peas
  • Onions
  • Asparagus
  • Mangos
  • Papayas
  • Kiwi
  • Eggplant
  • Grapefruit
  • Cantaloupe
  • Cauliflower
  • Sweet Potato

See why I get confused sometimes? Why is cabbage considered “clean” and spinach considered “dirty”? It’s a mystery to me.


So there you go. You just have about 30 foods to remember whether you should buy them organic or not, and the others, well, the price usually determines which one I buy. Hey, I am still on a college-student budget! But I do still try to lean more towards more organic than not.

I did not come up with this list on my own, fortunately there were many people who came before me and who were much smarter than me and had much more money for research. Here are a couple of websites I used and you can look at if you want more information.

http://www.ewg.org/foodnews/

http://www.drweil.com/drw/u/ALB00035/The-Dirty-Dozen-Foods-You-Should-Always-Buy-Organic.html

 

I hope this helps you  as you’re shopping for food! I’d love to hear other guidelines you guys use  as you’re shopping to be resourceful while buying quality food!

Have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

