The Best Chicken Soup Ever!

HappyThursday!!!

I trust that this week has been treating you as well as it has been treating me! I’ve been keeping myself busy with schoolwork and studying for a Chemistry CLEP test, and somehow those two things have been taking up all of my time! I did get a nice break on Tuesday when my roommates and I had people over for dinner and we sat around the campfire for a few hours because it’s been so nice outside! I seriously have been loving this weather and I am so glad that fall has been so much longer this year than last year, especially because all of the leaves are still changing. Literally every time I walk out of my house I think of how blessed I am to live in Colorado.

Today marks one week plus one day on the GAPs diet. I haven’t noticed a huge difference in my body, except I have had more energy and haven’t had any negative reactions to anything I’ve eaten all week! Usually I have something about once a week, but that typically happens after I eat too much fruit or honey. So, when I eliminate those from my diet, I don’t feel bad! Weird!

Today’s soup holds a special place in my heart. It is one of the basic soup recipes from Dr. Natasha’s Gut and Psychology Syndrome book (found HERE), and that single soup brought me through my first round of the GAPs Intro diet when I originally went through it in May. That was before I started looking for other ideas for soups and was happy with just that one! If that doesn’t speak to how delicious this soup is, nothing will. It holds the prize for the best chicken soup.

And, for a treat, this is a 2-in-1 post! I will also tell you how to properly make chicken stock. This is important, especially for people who are just starting the diet because if you cook your chicken stock too long, you can release enzymes from the bones that are harmful to people with very damaged guts. And you will be eating (or drinking) a lot of chicken stock in the intro diet.


Chicken Garlic Soup

From Gut and Psychology Syndrome by Dr. Natasha Campbell

Ingredients:

  • Whole chicken, organic, free range. preferably from a local farm
  • 6 organic carrots, washed and sliced
  • 1 organic onion, chopped
  • Filtered water
  • 1 head of organic cauliflower, chopped
  • 2-3 zucchini, peeled and sliced
  • 10 cloves garlic,
  • Coconut oil or lard
  • Peppercorns
  • Salt (I prefer Celtic salt, but you can also use real salt or anything else without iodine added)

How to Prepare Chicken Stock:

Take a whole chicken, giblets and all, and put in a crock pot with the carrots and onion. Fill crock pot with water and let cook on high for 2-3 hours. That’s it! Super simple!! You don’t want to overcook it because cooking within that time frame is when the maximum nutrients and fat are released from the chicken.

Chicken Soup:

After your stock is made, remove chicken from broth and let cool. While that is cooling, pre-heat oven to 400ºF and cut cauliflower and zucchini and toss in melted lard or coconut oil in a large glass baking dish. Cut the bottoms off of the garlic, but leave the “shell” on and throw in with the zucchini and cauliflower. Stick in oven for 45 minutes to roast, then let cool. De-shell the garlic and put in the food processor and chop until small, but not mashed. You may have to do this in parts. Then throw all of the vegetables (including onions and carrots) in a large pot with the stock, de-boned chicken,* and peppercorns. Let simmer for 15-20 min and serve.

*If you are planning to make bone broth, keep all of the bones after de-boning the chicken and stick back in the crock pot with water (to the top) and a splash of apple cider vinegar (I use Bragg Organic Apple Cider Vinegar) to release the nutrients from the bones. Cook for about 8 hours.


 I cannot stress enough how delicious this soup is! It is one that I almost always have on hand and haven’t gotten sick of it!

I hope you all are having a wonderful day! And join me tomorrow to see what soup made number one one on the list!!!

 

Leave a Reply

