GAPs Day 6: The Secret to Success…ful Soup!

I hope you all had a fantastic weekend! Mine was very busy and full of family, friends, and food! I took a much-needed break from school, this blog, and other responsibilities and got to start the week feeling refreshed and rejuvenated!

Today, I am going to talk about my 3rd favorite soup. I found a secret to adding an amazing flavor to the soup that I never would have thought could change the taste of a soup so much! How did I discover this secret? Well, I was making soup one day (I tend to make about two weeks worth of soup in one day and then not have to cook too much for a while, except to replenish on stock), and was also in the process of making ginger tea. I decided to finish off my ginger root in the soup along with some chicken and vegetables leftover from other soups. And let me tell you, it made some of the best tasting broth EVER!!! No kidding! It was amazing how just a little bit of ginger can change a soup so much!


Chicken Ginger Soup

  • 6 cups chicken stock
  • 2 tsp ginger root, wash, peeled, and sliced thinly
  • 1 lb or so of chicken
  • 1 head cauliflower, chopped
  • 6 carrots, sliced
  • salt and pepper to taste.

For the chicken, I have used both chicken breasts and part of a whole chicken I cooked to make stock. I have no preference as to which one tastes better, so whichever you have on hand.

Put stock, ginger, and chicken (only if uncooked) in a large pot and let simmer for 20 minutes.  This will release the ginger flavoring into the stock. Add carrots then cook for 10 minutes, then add cauliflower and chicken (if cooked before-hand) and cook to desired done-ness. I like my vegetables soft but not falling apart.


I am so excited, as Thanksgiving is approaching way faster than I was prepared for it, to create new recipes that my sisters and I are able to eat this year! No more starving for us while our family has a smorgasbord of food that won’t sit well! Just kidding, we never starve, just don’t get to enjoy as many things, and I had never even thought of adapting recipes to make them friendly for those with allergies! So I am very excited to stretch my creative muscles and create some new, delicious foods, as you could probably tell by me talking about it already. So stay tuned! I will be starting recipes soon to share!

What have you found to be a great secret to making soup taste better?

Have a blessed day and I’ll see you tomorrow for my second favorite soup ever!

Leave a Reply

