Day 3~ Lovin’ Me Some Cauliflower

When people say you should take a few days off when you start this diet, they are not kidding you! And if you haven’t heard this before, let me tell you: Please, for your own sake and for the sake of those around you, take a few days off when you start this diet! Or at least don’t be as stupid as I was and work a night shift without getting much sleep beforehand and start this diet and stop coffee cold turkey. It’s just a bad idea overall. Don’t even try it.

But, beyond being incredibly sleepy, I feel fine today! No stomach upsets, or anything! Praise the Lord!

Also, exciting news… I officially switched my major today! I had been putting it off for no apparent reason, but now I’m being very intentional to do things when I am assigned to them rather than when they are due. So I am taking the initiative and doing many projects now, including studying for tests, starting case studies and other assignments, and working on other projects that don’t relate to school. For instance, I have had some apples sitting in my pantry for almost a week now that I picked and have now made into apple sauce!Although that’s something I can’t eat until stage 4 (I’ll share that recipe later) it’s all ready for me to eat, which will be nice considering I’m coming up on a busy time in school. Really, it’s taunting me in my pantry but it will definitely be worth the wait.

Here is my recipe for cauliflower “meatball” soup! I wouldn’t recommend this one cold, but it is very satisfying, especially if you like cauliflower as much as I do! This recipe is another one that you can multi-task while making, even if you aren’t a very good multi-tasker. Plus if you forget about it on the stove, you don’t have to worry about it getting too mushy or anything!

 


Cauliflower Meatball Soup

  • 1 head cauliflower, chopped
  • 1 small yellow squash, peeled  and sliced
  • 5 cloves garlic; 4 sliced, 1 diced
  • 4 cups chicken stock
  • 1 lb organic, cage-free ground chicken
  • salt to taste

Put chicken stock, cauliflower, yellow squash and 4 cloves garlic in large pot. Cook until very soft (about 25 minutes). Puree using an immersion blender or food processor. While vegetables are cooking, mix chicken, garlic, and a pinch of salt together. Form into balls. After blending vegetables, put soup back into the pot and drop the meatballs in. Let simmer until chicken is cooked thoroughly.


 

There you go! Pretty simple and very delicious. I have seen variations done with ground beef rather than chicken, such as this recipe from Journey to Foods that bring Life.

I hope you all have a blessed day and I can’t wait to see you back tomorrow for more updates on the GAPs Journey!

Leave a Reply

