GAPs Day 2~ Ginger for Days

GAPs Day 2 Recap: Today, I had a marked decrease in my energy levels. However, it could be attributed to the fact that ran and swam yesterday and only got about 6 hours of sleep last night… eh, probably not. I am feeling good otherwise, and haven’t had any digestion issues, which is very encouraging! I hope to God don’t think I’ll be on this stage for more than three or four days unless something major comes up tomorrow or the day after. I just have to take it one day at a time.

I also put a little yogurt in my soup for lunch, without any side-effects so I can add that back to my diet already! Yay!!! That was one thing I was really missing already. I’ll probably only have one or two tablespoons a day for a few days just to make sure there isn’t any delayed reaction, so keep your fingers crossed for me!

On day 5 of our countdown, I present ginger-squash soup. This isn’t my absolute favorite because it isn’t hardy enough for my taste, but it is still delicious and I will often eat in between meals when I’m looking for a snack but am not really hungry enough for a full soup. It also is great for breakfast with a couple fried eggs if you are able to eat them.

So without further ado…


Ginger Squash Soup

  • 1 butternut squash
  • 1 medium yellow squash, peeled
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 5-6 cloves of garlic (or whatever you prefer, I love my garlic!)
  • 1 Tbsp ginger root, peeled and sliced thinly
  • 3-4 cups chicken stock
  • celtic salt to taste

How to prepare a squash:

  • Preheat oven to 350°F. Slice squash in half long-ways, scoop out all of the seeds and place flesh-side down in glass baking dish with enough filtered water to cover bottom. Place in the oven for 50 minutes, until very soft. If you are making it for other recipes where you aren’t pureeing the squash, leave it in the oven for only 35 minutes. Remove from the oven, let cool, and scoop all of the flesh from the shell.

Slice the yellow squash and put it in a pot on the stove with onion, garlic, ginger, and stock. Let simmer for 20-30 minutes until the veggies are cooked thoroughly. Add squash and let simmer another 10 minutes. Use immersion blender or food processor to make into a puree.


This also tastes great cold, especially with some yogurt, which is so nice that there are options if you don’t have access to a stove for lunch. Sorry I don’t have any pictures up yet. I will work on them soon!

Today, I got to make a bunch of awesome recipes with my sister (Who is also on GAPs) that I am so excited to share with you later! It was so rough smelling all of that delicious food and not being able to eat any of it, but I survived and have something to look forward to in a few weeks when I am back on the full GAPs diet. I guess smelling it will have to be enough to satisfy me for now…

I hope you all had a fantastic day and make sure to check back tomorrow for another wonderful recipe and update on how I am faring!

Leave a Reply

