GAPs Day 1… Top 6 Countdown

Happy Hump Day!!! We have officially made it through the better (or worse, depending on your perspective) half of the week and we have a lovely weekend to look forward to! And it is going to be gorgeous, let me tell you! I mean, have you seen the trees lately? Here are a few shots I took walking to class the other day…

photo 1 photo (6) photo 2

How amazing is that! I am so blessed to live in Colorado!

As I informed you all, today is officially my first day of re-starting the GAPs intro diet. Today has gone well so far! No sugar cravings, no dying without coffee (one of the foods I let slip into my diet more often than I should have), and no pining after fruit, which is usually my hardest thing to give up. I have had the energy to go for a run, meet with a friend for lunch, and go to class so far, although I am getting ready now to take a nap because I am working the night shift tonight. I am determined to not cheat one little bit for at least a month as I want my body to heal in the most efficient way! Feel free to ask me about how it’s going!

As I am working my way through the first stage of the diet, I wanted to give you guys the recipes for my top 6 favorite soups that are GAPs approved. These soups have gotten me through many months of a nourishing traditions diet and I still enjoy them in spite of the weeks where all I ate was soup. I will share them in order from least favorite to most favorite.  I got the ideas for the recipes from other online resources and I will share links to those resources because they have many great ideas for GAPs approved foods! So here is number 6 on my all-time favorite soups list…

 


Stage 1 Chicken “Noodle” Soup

Adapted from this blog

  • 1 whole organic, cage-free chicken
  • 6 organic carrots, sliced
  • 1 organic onion, diced
  • 1 large zucchini, shredded into noodles
  • 6-7 cloves of garlic, chopped coarsely

Place entire chicken (including giblets), carrots, and onions into a crock pot with enough water to fill. Cook for two-three hours on high. Pull out chicken, let cool, and debone. Place chicken, carrots, onions, zucchini and garlic into a large pot and fill with stock from cooking the chicken. Let simmer until zucchini noodles are desired doneness. Salt and pepper to taste


 

There you go! It’s really pretty simple, and most of the steps are not labor intensive, just deboning the chicken. If you already have the stock and chicken made, feel free to saute the onions and carrots together then add the broth and chicken. You are going to want to add the zucchini just 15 minutes before you are ready to eat it or they will become very limb and unappetizing (I learned that the hard way).

If you are just cooking for one or two, this will definitely leave left-overs for you to freeze or keep in the refrigerator to re-heat for later! Also this tastes really good with a little pickle juice in it for your probiotics.

Let me know what you guys think of the soup! Also, if you have any other soup ideas, I am always open for suggestions and I would love to be a guinea pig for you!

I hope you have a wonderful and blessed day! Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

