My Life… And A Delicious Banana-Nut Bread Recipe

Do you ever wake up thinking that you’re late for something? Where you wake up in a complete panic and your brain automatically goes through each worst case scenario if you were late to your meeting/work/class/whatever? Well that was me this morning. I work up at 5:30 AM thinking that I had missed an early morning shift and seeing I had missed a call from my work didn’t help at all. The good news: my shift is actually tomorrow. The bad news: I had so much adrenaline pumping through my body, I had absolutely no chance of falling back to sleep. More good news though: this has been one of the most productive mornings of my life. I decided to go into the kitchen to get a glass of water and found three bananas sitting on the counter and decided they needed a little TLC. So what do I naturally make? Banana bread, of course! (recipe to follow later in this post) I have also gone for a run, picked up my room, showered, finished chicken bone broth, oil pulled, eaten breakfast, cleaned up the kitchen after myself, worked on some homework, read a little, and now I’ve written a blog post, all before 9 AM! If the rest of my day continues like this, I could be ruling the world by dinner time!

Okay, maybe not, but I’m guessing I’ll definitely be able to finish the two projects I have due tomorrow before my class at 2 today, and who knows what else? I love mornings like this, and I wish I could force them to happen more often. Don’t get me wrong, I also love lazy mornings where I have the time to drink my coffee on the front porch and watch the sun rise, but I try to reserve those for weekend mornings. Today, I did get to watch the sun rise, or rather squint into the sun as I was running, and I am so thankful for that! I am also thankful that I have gotten so much done!

Well, enough about me… Here’s the delicious and super easy recipe I whipped up this morning! It turned out delicious and wasn’t too sweet, which made it a perfect addition to my eggs for breakfast. It’s banana-nut bread made GAPs/Paleo/SCD friendly with no grains, dairy, or sugar! The honey is optional if you like your bread a little less sweet. So enjoy it without guilt!

P.S. Make sure you don’t open the end of the salt shaker that’s used for measuring spoons if you were planning on shaking it into your palm. It’s bad news bears.


One Bowl Banana-Nut Bread:

Ingredients:

  • 3 over-ripe bananas (the more brown, the better!)
  • 1/4 cup cold-pressed coconut oil
  • 1 1/2 cup almond flour
  • 1/8 cup honey
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt (I use Celtic Sea Salt®)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Pre-heat oven to 375°F. Mash bananas in a medium-sized bowl. Add all other ingredients except nuts and stir until there are no lumps in the batter. Fold in walnuts. Pour into greased cake pan and bake for 45 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean.


 

There you go! It will take about 5 minutes to mix together and then you can do other things while enjoying the wonderful scent of the bread filling up the house! If you’ve never cooked with almond flour before, beware that it doesn’t rise. However, I have heard recently that if you properly soak your almonds and make an almond flour from them, it does rise like regular bread. I’m very excited to experiment with that, I just haven’t had the time to yet. If you have any tips, feel free to post about them in the comments below!

I hope you all have a blessed and productive day!

Leave a Reply

